Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center graduates 271st Basic Training Class

271 Oath

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Twenty-nine new law enforcement officers graduated from the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center (KLETC) on Dec. 11 at a ceremony held in KLETC’s Integrity Auditorium.

Officer Rachel Grisham from the Salina Police Department was the recipient of both the Director’s Honor Roll and the Welch Academic Award.

Officer Tristan LaRocque from Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks & Tourism was recognized for his firearms proficiency as the class’ “Top Shot.” Officer Antione Powell from Leavenworth Police Department walked, ran or biked more than 215 miles during his time at KLETC and exceeded the other physical requirements of the 200 Mile Club including push-ups, sit-ups and a timed 1.5 mile run. Powell was honored as a member of the 200 Mile Club, and for his efforts, he received the Fitness Award.

Graduates receive certificates of course completion from KLETC and Kansas law enforcement certification from the Kansas Commission on Peace Officers’ Standards and Training, the state’s law enforcement licensing authority. The training course fulfills the state requirement for law enforcement training. Classroom lectures and hands-on applications help train officers to solve the increasingly complex problems they face in the line of duty.

Established by the Kansas Legislature in 1968, KLETC trains the majority of municipal, county and state law enforcement officers in Kansas and oversees the training of the remaining officers at seven authorized and certified academy programs operated by local law enforcement agencies and the Kansas Highway Patrol.

About 300 officers enroll annually in KLETC 14-week basic training programs. KLETC offers continuing education and specialized training to over 10,000 Kansas officers each year. KLETC is located one mile west and one mile south of Yoder, near Hutchinson, and is a division of University of Kansas Lifelong & Professional Education.

The graduates, who began their training in August 2020, represented 20 municipal, county and state law enforcement agencies from across Kansas. Graduates who granted permission to release their names are listed below by county and agency:

• Rachel Ehler, Barber County Sheriff’s Office

• Kathryn Russell, Andover Police Department
• Stephen Evans, Butler County Sheriff’s Office

• Jeffery Meyer, Cheyenne County Sheriff’s Office
• Parker Wells, Cheyenne County Sheriff’s Office

• Rahjames Robinson, Concordia Police Department

• Leonard Lovely, Decatur County Sheriff’s Office

• Adam Bresson, Garden City Police Department
• Zachary Orr, Garden City Police Department

• Ella Weishaar, Jefferson County Sheriff’s Office

• Antione Powell, Leavenworth Police Department
• Matthew Weis, Leavenworth Police Department

• Brett Jenkins, Linn Valley Police Department

• Blane Janssen, McPherson Police Department

• Parker Yell, Coffeyville Police Department

• Dalton Bauer, Ness County Sheriff’s Office

• Tristan LaRocque, Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks, & Tourism
• Christopher Orton, Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks, & Tourism
• Trenton Smith, Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks, & Tourism

• Logan Corley, Hutchinson Police Department
• Benjamin Smalling, Hutchinson Police Department
• Trevor Stoll, Hutchinson Police Department

• Ashly Gellinger, Salina Police Department
• Rachel Grisham, Salina Police Department

• Roy Brandon, Wichita State University Police Department

• Matthew Tincher, Oxford Police Department
• Brett Thomas, Sumner County Sheriff’s Office
• Andrea Wagoner, Sumner County Sheriff’s Office

• Gavin Williams, Wilson County Sheriff’s Office.